Happy New Year

Happy new year good people.

May 2016 be filled with laughter. May 2016 be the beginning of our best years!!! Sounds cliche but yeah, I am just so sure this year will be LIT!!!

Stumbled on this picture (it was initially shared by Natalie Brown, a Training and Management personnel about a month ago) and I was just amazed by how many people agree with her point (by the way I also agree). I shared it on LinkedIn and I have had people I am not even connected to like the same picture and drop comments.

 

Why good employees leave
Source: LinkedIn

I have left a few jobs/ was dissatisfied and all I could think of and plot for months was my exit plan. For one, I had had it so up here, I had my letter ready to drop it when the next offer came. Like it was that bad. Looking back now (at each point, I never really thought about the fact that I had/ didn’t like my manager/ supervisor), I realize that it was actually the major factor. Coming second was the “I am not challenged” factor. Surprisingly, “more money” has never featured on my top 3 list of leaving a firm/ job. I have actually left one for another which paid way less. Made me pause and think. Who exactly is a bad manager? What makes one a bad manager? I don’t have the answers!!! And answers to this can and are likely to vary from person to person.

On a previous job, a senior and I had quite some drama and discussing it with others, they asked me to engage him. I did and realized for some, they don’t even realize what they are doing – ba being the bad manager/ boss/ supervisor. That’s just the way they are wired or have come to be.

Some are however just bad managers. And trust me I have worked with them.

Thinking about the fact that I could someday be the reason a trusted/ good/ hardworking/ promising subordinate leaves a firm/ job is just somehow.

On a lighter note. Today so happens to be a “friend” on Facebook’s birthday. Saw the notification and was at loss as to who it was. Name and surname just didn’t click. Took me almost an hour to figure out who it was. And I just burst out laughing. If you ever hear that I “fought” (well not physically) a babe cuz of a guy.. yeah that’s the babe. Things we did when we did for “love”.

N.B: You are invited. If you are in Lagos or can make it to Lagos on Saturday, you are invited. An economic outlook programme will hold on Saturday 16 Jan, 2015. The objective of the programme is to equip participants with the requisite knowledge of the implications, opportunities and threats which the 2016 budget presents. The expected outcome for participants is improved strategic business focus as well as improved decision-making by prayerfully applying this knowledge and understanding. 

Key industry segments and speakers include:

1. Key Note Address: Diversifying the Nigerian Economy: Talk to Action – Kunle Elebute
2. Micro, Small, Medium-scale Enterprises (MSMEs) – Nneka Okekearu
3. Media and Entertainment – Don-Pedro Obaseki
4. Financial Services – Banking – Acha Leke
5. Financial Services – Non-Banking – Tony Oputa
6. Information, Communication & Technology – Omobola Johnson
7. mManufacturing – Obi Ezeude
8. Agriculture – Mezuo Nwuneli
9. Oil, Gas and Power – Abayomi Olarinmoye
10. Real Estate and Construction – Deji Alli
11. Job Opportunities and Skill Development – Uwa Osa-Oboh

The event is free. Date is Saturday, 16 January, 2016 at The King’s Court, 3 Keystone Bank Crescent, Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria from 8.00am to 4.00pm.

Visit www.nigerianeconomicoutlook.com to register.

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

