Every project has an end date

April 14, 2014

I resumed at the firm.

April 17, 2014

I was assigned to a project. A 12 months project. Expected end date: July 2015.

June – August 2014

Project stalled.

August 2014

Project has been extended to October 2015. Go-Live date: October 5, 2015. I almost died. 2015 seemed so far especially for someone as restless as I am. Not to now talk of October. Laun laun?!!! E fe pa mi ni?

September 2014

Took a 2 weeks break to work on another project.

December 2014

I was mandated to take PMP at work. I had planned to take it at the end of the project, one, to get enough hours and two, I knew I might not have the time to read. I had listed taking the exam as part of my goals for the FY.

Anyways, the mail came from my manager  December 18. Ensure you take the exam Q1, 2015. Unfailingly.

January 2015

I found a centre to do my PMP training.

Had a new in-charge who loved to close late (even if the work could be continued the next day and the deliverable wasn’t urgent). He wants to make Manager so he is ready to die there.

February 2015

Finished PMP training. Now to register for the exam. Wahala. Centre kept messing up.

March 2015

Finally got registered for the exam. All along, I didn’t have the “time” to read. I will promise to read when I get home but when you have been at work since 8:30/ 9am and just getting home at 11pm, sure reading will be the last thing on your mind.

I will read on weekends. Weekends became sleep/ catch-up days. May is coming!!!!

April 2015

Dawns on me kinda that May was just next tomorrow literally. Start to read even in my very tired state. Hoping to take a week off at the end of April to “read”. Exam is May 2

May 2015

I had not gone on vacation for the FY. We were informed no vacays till project is over. At this point, I was so sure I won’t survive. I have been on an implementation job before but it wasn’t this tasking… and long. Suddenly, October felt like a very long time away.

Week off in April/ May became 2 days off. Had to go to work the Monday I was meant to start my leave. Took Tuesday off. Wednesday and Thursday I spent in training. Friday was a public holiday.

Even when I knew that though I had read and all, I didn’t feel as prepared as I should be. My boss is begging me to please pass and is telling me he knows I don’t have the time to read. I am like…..

Then May 1 came. Failed all the tests I did. I couldn’t even cry. Just shut down my laptop, closed all books and went to bed. Woke up May 2 and headed for the centre. At that point, I was like Esther – “If I fail, I fail”.

May 10, got a mail. I passed. Unbelievable!!!!

June 2015

The 24/7 work begins. Prior to this I worked weekends but minimally. I had time to still go out, see people, go for weddings and all. Then June 2015 came. 8am – 11pm or more work. Work on Saturdays and Sundays. No breaks. No vacations. No church. No parties. No hanging out. Nada. Zero social life. Social life I was trying to build.

Public holidays became regular work days.

QP was scheduled for July 2 – 4. I was working 3 projects at the same time – day job, QP and wedding planning.

July 2015

A cousin’s wedding is coming up. How will I get time off? Fortunately, the wedding dates fell on a public holiday weekend. Was able to get one day off – Saturday. Funny innit? I have to ask for Saturday off.

I went to South-South for the first time – yayyest. PH.

Got off the plane from PH and met my church Pastor at the airport. Monday morning.

Question: where are you coming from?

Pays to be a good girl *lol*

August 2015

Mehn, the hustle is real. At this point, I was too sure I will collapse one day. Multivitamins became my daily tonic. Work + my sister’s wedding. I was looking forward to October.

Went to church for the first time in almost 2 months. I couldn’t even wake up early to make Fresh Anointing Service or Workers’ prayer meeting. I was drifting.

Sis’ wedding came and I was back at work immediately. I was tired. Physically, mentally and emotionally. Drained!!!

Yet people saw me and said I looked good. And am thinking “abi these people are blind ni”? It could only have been God. I was totally off make-up. Biko who had time to draw eye brows? I really couldn’t be bothered about how I looked frankly.

iPhone was stolen. I couldn’t even shout. God bless the person that stole it. I shall not use my mouth to curse him/ her.

September 2015

Def, no more church.

Cousin’s wedding. Started begging for day off (including Saturday o).

Go-live planning ongoing.

We are seriously praying. We all know what happens to the best laid plans…. We are positive but still

October 1, 2015

Party dey for church, I no fit go. Managed to go see Captive. Sleeping at work begins

October 2, 2015

Work continues. Mehn we are just hanging in there. Almost there.

October 3, 2015

Go decision is taken

October 4, 2015

We are live mehn. See praise and worship. Come and hear prayers.

October 5, 2015

Application is LIVE. Day 1 operations nationwide. Minimal issues. Way less issues that we thought.

I think I am ready to have my life back now!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Every project has an end date

  1. Wow! Well done! Hard to understand what your work entails. I thought j would chat with you more now we work in the same firm lol probably less now! The way they claim our downtime!

    1. Lol. Abi na. As in. When even trainings are seen as faffing time (i.e. you hear shebi you were faffing – and you were on a training o). I tire.

      And I am mostly on the client site with crappy network. I don’t bother connecting to Lync

Leave a Reply

