RIP Madiba

The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling but in rising everytime we fall- Nelson Mandela

*sigh sigh sigh*

I am not one to do this RIP stuff especially for popular people but *sigh* he has gone to rest.

I woke up to see the news on CNN and after confirming it aint a rumor like the other time, I head to facebook.
Why? In June or was it July when he was first rumored dead I saw Facebook statuses that made me angry. Now when someone decides to put up a status along the lines of South Africans should free Mandela to die after all he is old, I believe that individual should be flogged. And trust me, I saw a lot of such statuses.

Now if those statuses were a bit sensitive, I won’t have had a problem after all true true he was an old man. But when you ask a people who have seen hatred in its raw form, lived through hardship and had a “saviour” in such an insensitive manner, leaves a sour taste in the mouth. And as I said then, no matter how old someone is, you can never be ready to lose the person. Even if the person is 120 years.

I ask that people be a little sensitive and not make silly statements. If you can’t RIP or feel their pain, not commenting would make more sense. And if you don’t know who Mandela is, google is your friend. Or famzing about when you met him and putting up a picture not remotely close to Mandela.

Time to rewatch Sarafina and other apartheid movies. And Invictus. Different sides of a great man. And that SA trip must happen in 2014

End of an era. RIP Madiba. Sleep well Mandela. The world leader from Africa.

A good name is better than silver and gold. Always

Leave a Reply

