How did we get here?

How and when did we get to the point where we get “paranoid” when people stop to help?

My car broke down a couple of weeks ago about 9:30 pm on Adeola Odeku and a zillion  number of cars sped past without even stopping. Was I surprised? Heck NO! About 20 minutes after, a car stops and I remember double checking to be sure my windows were up, my car locked (never mind that my windows hardly go down and my car is forever locked). Dude does help move the car outta the way but all I (and my colleague) kept doing was “suspecting” the guy. I still think about that incident and ask how did we get to this point. Where when someone helps, we believe the person has ulterior motives. The ones who don’t help, we believe that’s the way of life. If they did, we would have been surprised. Don’t get me wrong. I know it is madly dangerous to “receive” help from strangers yeah… But really, when did we cross that line?

You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. 

                                                                                       – Matthew 24:6

How did we get to the point where we believe the solution to a problem is to go to war?

I have been thinking about this Syria issue since the chemical weapon incident. Like most of us, since e no concern me, I just read about it and carried face. Till two weeks ago. Let me be clear here. I am not supporting Assad and the whole ish BUT the way US, UK and their allies are carrying this issue, I wonder if anybody has even stopped to THINK. I just believe there are other ways this can be handled and SHOULD have been handled all along. I mean this “war” has been on for about 2 years.

1. What IF (big if), it was the rebels who used the chemical weapon? Please don’t argue that they can’t access such weapons. For all we care and know, even the US might have supplied the weapons to have a reason to oust Assad. Just like someone asking how Boko Haram got their weapons. Or where Al-Qaeda got its weapons from. I keep seeing a lot of “it is likely”, “intelligence points to the fact that” e.t.c. YET there is no proof. Still yet, US is preparing to attack Syria.

2. Even if it is Assad and you get him out, are we forgetting Egypt, Libya, so quickly? What happens when power is handed over to rebels?

3. Who would suffer the most when Syria is attacked? Isn’t it the citizens US and its cronies “want to protect”?

4. Am I the only one who finds it disconcerting that as at Monday or Tuesday, out of about 37 US Senators who wanted to “go to war”, more than half were Republicans? What is with these people and war?

How and when did we get to this point? Signs of the times yeah!!!!

In unrelated ish, I need the missing part of this song (the lines xxxxxx). I used to know the lyrics (as a child I think). Not sure of it is KSA or Obey or neither sef wey sing am.

Bi ban se pe Oluwa

xxxxxxx

xxxxxxx

Nigba tesu gbogun ti wa

Ope ni f’Oluwa, Oba wa Olore

A se (or is it ka se) ka, kabiyesi kabiyesi re

A fope fun Jehova

To gbawa lowo ota

Adupe Oluwa

I tried with my spelling yeah? *big smile*

Oya who knows the missing parts? A prize ….. Just help a sister biko.

Yayyyyy, we entering into the “-ber” months…. Ya’all know what that means. 2 countdowns BABYYYYY. The girl’s birthday and Christmas…. Kent wait…. Ki Olorun so wa ju igbayen lo… Wow, rolling in Yoruba tonight. I believe the interpretation is something along the lines of God keeping us more than those dates right? I used to think I knew Yoruba. Well, till I started working with my team… Lord, I need lessons.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and go to church tomorrow.

Tada

 

Leave a Reply

