Temptations aka Devil with the Red Car

So I finally see the Tyler Perry movie everybody people have been raving about. Long story. I usually don’t do such movies at the cinema. You know, we do it the download way and C refused to see Olympus had fallen a second time (meaning I still haven’t seen the movie and White House Down is coming out soon). Ok you get the gist. I would rather go watch a Man of Steel at the cinemas than watch romcom or the likes. Anywayz, that’s not the gist of this post.

So well unlike the reviews, I think he did a good job with the movie. Yeah, we could practically tell the end (kinda), good “village” girl goes to the city and meets the “phenomenal” man (“unfortunately” she was married to a “good” man) and after much temptation, she falls. Lessons learnt? Over and over again, I say it, never take people for granted. Your spouse, parents, siblings, friends, boyfriend, girlfriend. The time you start getting too comfortable is the time to be on guard. Especially in marriages. Love needs to be fed. Before that size 8 lady starts “loving” your cologne. Or that man starts sending flowers to your office. Meanwhile wifey or boo doesn’t even notice. Oh and it aint just in marriages o. Relationships too o. Secondly, if that spouse is the “good” kind; sex in the bedroom kind and you think, or someone is dropping hints about 200 different sex positions and you wanna explore, fine. Explore with your spouse. Bring them “up to date”. Not come home one night and expect the good wife/husband to suddenly know you want something kinky. I mean for someone who wanted to be a marriage counselor, I would have thought she would get books or movies or something to help the husband “realize” that she needed or wanted something more than bedroom sex . But then again, I aint married so what do I know. Thirdly, I think one needs to pay attention when a person tells you about himself or herself (if the other person is honest enough to tell the truth from the start). At some point, “phenomenal” guy told babe he was naturally obsessive. Someone tells me that? I am so out. But well I am sure she rationalized that statement in her head and felt it wasn’t a bad trait. Sweetheart it is. So when the beating came, oh boy I was expecting that. Hehehe, and for those “hissing” babes at the end of the movie, biko if you husband puts you through what babe put her husband through and ends up with HIV, you go still take him back? Abi? I no sabi why dem dey hiss o. Cuz if we wanna be true to ourselves, na only God fit help una take that kain person back. Be friends ko si wahala but am sure you aint gonna sleep with that person EVER again. That said, every action/inaction has a consequence. God would forgive you o bet you would have to live with the consequence however small.

Anywayz, it is a good movie. Cliche yeah but nice. But then again Lance Gross is in it *fans self*. Oh that body. The guitar scene!!!! Two things- hawt body, a guitar *somebori help*. Lance Gross or Chris Hemsworth’s body? *swoons*

And “I don’t want a good guy, I want a phenomenal guy?” #dead

My grouse though is the usual portrayal of the black woman/black family as the “oju o lola ri” type (i.e. never seen/jam money before). So when she sees the guy with money, she “dumps” the not so rich/not rich at all guy for the “phenomenal” rich guy. Or the village girl/boy enters the city and goes south. I get it happens in reality. However, we do have the village girl/small town boy who gets into the big town/city and doesn’t go south. Right?

Btw, I apologize to those I told Suits aint it. Well compared to Scandal it still aint IT. Bet, I can manage it sha. Not a bad series at all. First 2 episodes were boring though. Kinda off putting.

I leave with this. Kindly replace Love with Lust as you listen (I think). Very necessary song I heard as I dropped C off to get a cab.

4 thoughts on “Temptations aka Devil with the Red Car

  1. Ok I didn’t read the full blog because I didn’t want spoilers but got the gist if it. I want to see that movie. Totally recommend Olympus has fallen, if you must watch it alone please do!

  2. I didn’t realise you had done a Temptation post! I recently watched the movie and I did a post too this week (late.com) lol..

    I agree with your analysis but me too I was hissing at the end oh.. Ahn ahn, I thought the man was meant to represent the epitome of unconditional love? So HIV does not fall under ‘unconditional’ haha..
    I felt sorry for the babe though.. Man plix make an effort.. plix! xx

Leave a Reply

