Solemn Night

So I missed GEJ’s speech abi na address declaring the state of emergency in 3 states… Oh well, these days, I keep off TV, newspapers (prints and online). The only reason I would be caught watching something is when it is time to watch Scandal.. Too much bad news. Anyways I hope it aint just all talk. If it wasn’t in a language them Boko boiz understand, ko make sense mehn.

So I was “reflecting” on this and stumbled on some Simon Kolawole articles. I used to love reading them but like I said, I can count how many times I have read a newspaper this year. That bad. And I saw this quote by Martin Niemoller. I have heard/read about it in the past. Somehow struck a cord tonight.

There are like a zillion (ok, I lie), quite a number of versions online (I guess, everybody decided to edit to suit their purposes, even saw one by hackers *sigh*) but I believe this is the original.

Als die Nazis die Kommunisten holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Kommunist.

Als sie die Sozialdemokraten einsperrten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Sozialdemokrat.

Als sie die Gewerkschafter holten,
habe ich nicht protestiert;
ich war ja kein Gewerkschafter.

Als sie die Juden holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Jude.

Als sie mich holten,
gab es keinen mehr, der protestierte.

Unfortunately, I don’t speak nor understand German. And I suck at all languages including Yoruba, so I would give you one of the numerous translation I saw online.

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

The gist is, STAND UP FOR SOMETHING! SPEAK OUT !!! Not speak as per talk, but do something before it is too late. God help us and make we help ourselves too.

A poem that seems to speak to me a lot these days also I would share

IF by Rudyard Kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and bot be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,
Or being hated, don't give way to hating,
And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise:
If you can dream - and not make dreams your master;
 If you can think - and not make thoughts your aim;
 If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
 And treat those two impostors just the same;
 If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken
 Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
 Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
 And stoop and build 'em up with worn-out tools:
If you can make one heap of all your winnings 
 And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
 And lose, and start again at your beginnings
 And never breathe a word about your loss;
 If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
 To serve your turn long after they are gone,
 And so hold on when there is nothing in you
 Except the Will which says to them: 'Hold on!'
If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
 ' Or walk with Kings - nor lose the common touch,
 if neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
 If all men count with you, but none too much;
 If you can fill the unforgiving minute
 With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,
 Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
 And - which is more - you'll be a Man, my son!

Somehow, tonight is just a solemn night for moi.

Btw, I dunno what to think of Apple opening up its platform to RIM or is it the other way round (whatever)… BBM on iPhone I can’t just comprehend. Makes it an even more “quiet” night…

So logging out with these

I realize the Stevie Wonder song can be controversial, so I end (finally) with

Musiq Soulchild and DJ Xclusive!!! Hmmmm

Good night good people.

Tada

Leave a Reply

