27 dresses

I promise. I won’t turn this blog into a wedding blog. Just trying to “document” my wedding planning experience as well as ask for your opinions especially those who recently planned weddings in Nigeria.

As some of you know, I have 2 bridesmaid duty in August and I am as excited as I am scared. I am helping both of them plan. My head is spinning already. Whew. Drew up a budget template in one night (I know right, templates plenty online; just didn’t find one that covered the full Nigerian wedding). Anywayz, that has been sorted. Now bridesmaids dresses, bride’s gown, colours, make-up and all. There is so much to do in so little time. I think I am going to stick to planning mine for a year. That way I get to take my time planning right? And not rushing/having so much to do in a short time. Working on the pre-wedding photoshoot at the moment. Which brings me to my first issue/challenge. I am all of pre-wedding photoshoot, I am just against releasing the pictures before the wedding. You ask so why the photoshoot ba? I dunno o. I just don’t wanna see my picture on any party favour or souvenir. Is that wrong? I am so gonna guard my pictures and his jealously. Except you find individual pictures sha o and photoshop, you aint gonna find a picture of both of us. Till after the wedding.

Issue number 2. How do I tell my mum I got bridesmaid duties. She don already talk say make me and my elder sister no do bridesmaid again. Issue number 3. Cost of dresses. I have spent my last 2 free Saturdays (I do one Saturday on, one Saturday off work) at one wedding or the other. Fortunately no aso-ebis so far. However, my next 3 weddings involve aso-ebi or bridesmaid dresses. The cost is killing yo! Issue 4. Getting the brides to sit down and let us work on these budgets. They seem to think we still have time. Enough issues for one post.

I saw a picture of a bride and her bridesmaids wearing similar gowns (same ivory colour, lacy design and all) on instagram. What happened to nobody wearing white/ivory asides the bride? You are allowed to wear any other colour or mix white/ivory with something else. Be rest assured, you wear white/ivory for my wedding? Don’t worry, the bouncers and MOPOL know what to do. Lol.

I learnt some “new skill” over the weekend. Had 2 weddings (one on both sides of the family) and since I was mum’s driver, I had to attend both. So mums and I did her side’s first. Went to the church and ensured we saw her half brother, step mum and other family members and took of to join pops at his cousin’s own. Church service at that already started so we had to wait till after the service and ensured we were seen. Skill is if you have more than one wedding, get to the church service early and ensure you are SEEN by those who need to know you came. Take off after the service and head to the reception of the other. Ensure also that they SEE you. I grew up believing the solution was to split. Mums goes for one, pops goes for one. But if the weddings are in the same state/area, just show face and ensure the important people see you o.

Later went to pick a friend at another wedding and heard how some friend of the groom proposed to his girlfriend (with the help of the compere). If you try that at mine ehn?

Now to my polls.

*sigh oh sigh* Who else thinks what I am thinking about Scandal? Jake-Olivia-Fitz angle. Your thoughts please.

I should be watching the Manchester Derby right? Alrighty, am out. Maybe I can catch the last few minutes.

Tada

Leave a Reply

