Iya ni wura

What can I say about a woman so loving yet major strict. A woman awake so early in the morning, on her knees praying for her husband and children. The one who taught me to cook, clean and every household chore possible. Who always said “omo kan kan o ni je ki wan gbe mi sepe lojo iwaju” (paraphrased, she would train us such that nobody would abuse her in future if we decide to go our own way). The one who taught me the Bible. Taking her time to explain passages to us. The one who sat and did my assignments with me (well, I chopped a lot of slaps and beatings in between sha). Never stopped begging and trying to make me a better person. From assignments to dissertations. Got whatsoever material I needed to do any project or assignment handed down. The one who taught me to be independent. Even though she knew nothing about Chemistry and Physics and Technical Drawing, she never stopped sitting with me to do assignments and even when she couldn’t, getting someone who could help me out. A woman forever “pestering” me about marriage *sigh*. The perfect home maker.  The one who watched every TV program, explained and asked what we learnt from them. It was that bad. Or good? The one who gave me her shoes to wear (well that’s what happens when you wear the same shoe size as your mum. Abi na?)

The one who showed me what it means to be a woman. I could go on and on and on and on…. Just wanna say, mama Deronk, twinnie mi, I love you more (even when I do not show it). All through our fights, you never gave up on me (always striving to bring me back to the right path). All through my surgeries, sitting down and gisting with me. Trying to get my mind off the pains. Even when I was down and out, making me snap out of it. Just one call, just one word. You just know how to do it. How to make me smile through my pains. Waiting for the day I can call you maami. Grateful for all the slaps, the beatings, the sleepless nights… Sorry for the times I ever doubted and stopped short of asking “na you born me?” Thank you for being on my case like forever. Lord knows I have a very big shoe to fill. My best friend, my sister, my lover, my twinnie. I dunno what I can and would do without you. May God keep you many many many many more years for me.

My grandma, the one who showed me the strength of a woman. My aunty and great-aunt, the ones who have never stopped praying for me, scolding yet ever loving and the ones who “assure” me I can never be fat (oh yes I believe them. Lol).

I just wanna say Happy Mothers’ Day to my mama, to all the mothers in my life, aspiring mothers and women generally. Just Joxy, I see you. Happy Mothers’ Day.

I leave with this.

Btw, tis Maami (my grandma’s birthday in 4 days)… So excited… As always…

2 thoughts on “Iya ni wura

Leave a Reply

