Rant 101

Took me 2 weeks to decide whether to rant here.

Wetin she wan rant about you ask. Customer service is our dear own country Nigeria. It has reached an all time high and frankly something needs to be done.

Where do I start from? Is it the banks? I was at GTB Lekki sometimes in December to apply for a new debit card as my old card would expire January ending. My conversation with the CS lady was something of this sort. I explained all the card is expiring, I need a new one ish. She gives me a form to fill, requesting that my card be transferred to the Lekki branch (as my account is domiciled) in another branch. I asked how long it would take and she said before the end of the month (citing Christmas and New Year holidays as possible reasons for a delay). Alrighty no problem. I also asked to open a dollar account and specifically requested a debit card, filled the form and all and asked again when that would be ready. End of the month I hear. And I left.

Fast forward January 11, 2013. Not a call or a mail asking me to pick up either cards. So I head to the bank. And the young lady tells my cards are not ready. If you know me, I hate being kept on cruise. So I asked what the issue was and why I was given a December ending it would be ready assurance and why nobody thought to inform me that my naira card wasn’t ready. Ok, we move on to the dollar account and card issues and she says I didn’t fill a form requesting for card. And am just there staring at her like so all the forms I filled that day and all the ticking dollar mastercard was for fun? The rest of the conversation was something like this.

CS: The account doesn’t come with a card usually. You need to fill another form to request for the card.
Me: I filled more than five forms the last time I came. And I mentioned that I needed a card for the account. Yet in your wisdom, you decided not to include the required form when passing a zillion of forms for filling.

Where do they get these people from?

Or when I went to their Chevron branch to cash a cheque. 150k o and am still there in a near empty banking hall 30 minutes after. So I tell the teller “don’t you think it is pretty bad that it is taking this long to cash a cheque for this amount”? His reply “no it isn’t”. And am like seriously? You actually opened your mouth to reply me?

Or should I talk about a more recent incident. Cakes and cream VI office. This just made me end an almost 8 years relationship. I order, do a transfer into your account and everyday I called to confirm if you have received payment you tell me you haven’t. So I am on GTB and Zenith banks case trying to trace where the money is. Meanwhile, the money had actually been transferred into your account. You wake me up at past 7 (note they don’t resume until 9) the day before the cake was needed, made me run to the bank to pay (2nd payment) and the 1st payment was actually in your account. Fast forward 2 days after (I spent the whole of the day before calling and they didn’t pick my calls), I was kept on hold for almost 30 minutes because “they were trying to trace it”. I then tell them I would call later in the day, only for the lady attending to me to reply “sorry ma, we would get back to you. Wait, my colleague just informed me that she has seen the first payment”. Really? The said colleague was where when I was kept on hold that long? Ok, please transfer my money back into my account abi? We spent another week plus almost 3k credit trying to get the money back. And all they kept saying was sorry. Oh I forget, the Friday, they finally “found” the money, I was told I would get my money back latest COB on Monday. Tuesday afternoon, I call and am told “ma, it is not yet COB on Tuesday na. Wait a bit more”.

I am giving a watered down version of these incidences. If I did a post when they happened, well I doubt I would have sha….

Anywayz, rant over….

In more beautiful news, met Angelsbeauty yesterday. Finally. Yayyyest. 😘😍. Twas great seeing you….

And I know I haf carry last but I finally heard Brymo’s Good morning song last week. Great song yo…. Question though. Was it ayonge or a young girl he said?

N.B: not sure I mentioned that I dyed my hair red (mid length to the end). Twas meant to be brown but as that part of my hair was already some shade of brown, it come out red. Now am doing the castor oil challenge, I just want my hair to grow and breathe. Have some body. Taking a break from fixing and all (I wonder how long I would survive without weaves). Need good wigs sha… Any ideas on where to buy? Already got a place to make. Just wanna compare prices. Oh and am def making a wig in Olivia’s style…..

12 thoughts on “Rant 101

  1. Er, because you called this a rant, I’ll forgive you, But you do need to re-edit the post, check this:

    Customer service is our dear own country Nigeria. It has reach an all time high and frankly something needs to be done. – Re-edit oo.

    NB: GTB does not call you or send you a text oo. You will have to go back to the bank sowi. As regards the cake people and cash transfer, I can only imagine how you felt in those 72hrs.

    In all, sowi ehn, we will get customer service right, and treat people with respect no matter who they are.

    Have fun.

  2. *speechless* traditional banks around the world are just so bad on customer service. And that cakes and cream one….that’s pathetic “it’s not yet COB”? Really???!!

  3. I don’t raise my expectations when it comes to customer service in 9ja. zenith bank has refused to give me my ATM Since NOV 2012. I got tired of asking and gradually I am emptying my account. Expect anything from any Organization. About your hair I Can Imagine. Lemme See the pix.Pls. Rant 101. Nice One from you again’

Leave a Reply

