Daddy can I please come back home?

You might remember these words/song from the movie “Preacher’s Kid”. Reminds one of the prodigal son yeah? Woke up this morning and thought of how many times I have strayed. Gone off to do my own thing. Decided not to care how my actions and inactions might hurt or offend those who love me and those I love. How many times I have done things I shouldn’t have. How many times I have left His presence in anger because I wasn’t getting what I wanted (and it goes both ways, both with God and my earthly parents). How many times I have hurt those around me.

And all I want to shout and plead for is mercy. I just want to come back home.

I’m so far away from home
I don’t know how I ended up here all alone
Seems, Like just yesterday
Everything was alright
How did I get here tonight
I was raised better than this
Daddy you don’t know how much I miss
All the lesson life taught you
You tried to tell me so I wouldn’t have to go through


I cry myself to sleep
(cry myself to sleep)
Try to find some peace
(try to find some peace)
Your little girl just have one question for you tonight
Daddy can I please come back home?
Hold me close don’t never let me go
I wanna say I’m sorry daddy every time I let you down
Can I come home tonight tell me everything will be alright


What am I going to do?
If I cant come home to you
Am I still Daddy’s little girl?
In this big bad world
I’m calling out to you know
Please help me someway, somehow


I was raised better than this
Daddy you don’t know how much miss
all the lessons life taught you
You tried to tell me so I wouldn’t have to go through


I cry myself to sleep
(cry myself to sleep)
Try to find some peace
(try to find some peace)
Your little girl have just one question for you tonight
Daddy can I please come back home?
hold me close don’t never let me go
I wanna say I’m sorry daddy every time I let you down
Can I come home tonight, Tell me everything will be alright


I’m tired of getting Independence
I’m tried of all the dogs pretending
Like I’m someone I’m not
When I’m so dog on lost
I wanna be free from these chains
A bird once small be free of pain
I’m calling out to you
Please hear me someway, somehow

Back home
Hold me close don’t never let me go
I wanna say I’m sorry daddy every time I let you down
Can I come home tonight tell me everything will be alright

Daddy can I come home tonight tell everything will be alright

Daddy can I come, Home

I just want to remain Daddy’s girl.

Another song that captures my mood this morning is Coming back home

Took some time to come around

Realize how I let you down

Been to late for sorry now

My pride got in the way

Yes it did
I thought I had it all figured out

I needed time away to work it out

And now that I’ve learned what it’s all about

And all I need is you in my life
So I’m coming back home

Home, where love is waiting for me

Been gone much too long

This is where I want to be

So I’m coming home, coming home

‘Cause home is where I belong
Somehow I lost my way

Mistakes I made I have to pay

It hurts to know still today

That I wasted so much time
And after all is said and done

There’s more to life than having fun

Ain’t no doubt, you’re the one

And all I need is you in my life
So I’m coming back home

Home, where love is waiting for me

Been gone much too long

This is where I want to be

So I’m coming home, coming home

‘Cause home is where I belong
Just to be in your arms

Is like heaven to me

Your love, your love is all that I need
So I’m coming back home

And I hope you forgive all my wrong

So I’m coming home, coming home

‘Cause home is where I belong
So I’m coming back home

Home, where love is waiting for me

Been gone much too long

This is where I want to be

So I’m coming home, coming home

‘Cause home is where I belong

Side note: I am about 7 posts away from a hundred posts and this blog would be 2 years in February. Watch out for a give away. Would be open though to only those in Nigeria and UK. Time to start shopping for a gift.

Have a great day.

Tada

4 thoughts on “Daddy can I please come back home?

  1. Loved this post. I’m so grateful for fatherly love, I cannot cunt the number of times I have offended both my heavenly and earthly fathers, but, yeap they are always ready ready to receive me back with open loving arms. Happy 2013 to you.

Leave a Reply

