On becoming a woman; the strength of a woman

About to sleep and I couldn’t help but think about how blessed I am to be surrounded by four beautiful women who I have learnt about life and womanhood from their actions, words, scolding, bravery, through their sorrows, tears, joy, hospitality, sacrifice and love. I guess am blessed to have people to learn from all around me.

I guess the thoughts came because it is one of them’s birthday in less than an hour.

Am talking about no other than my grandma aka Maami, my grandma’s sister, my mum and her sister.

From Maami, I have learnt amongst many things, sacrifice and the joy of sacrificing. Love like no other.

From my grandma’s sister, joy through pain, strength through sorrow and the happiness that comes after. Frankness.

From my aunty, openness and candour, boldness, frankness, seeing everybody as her own, never hesitating to correct, always ready to help. Through our fights (oh yes we fight a lot), ever ready to pull my ears till I listen.

And from my twin, my mum, the love of a mother and a sister, a woman who is every ready to stand by her family, who made me understand the importance of prayers. Always on her knees praying for her family both immediate and extended. Ready to talk some sense into me when I need to hear such and always there to calm my fears.

From all of them, the importance of the vows you take on your wedding day. For richer, for poorer. In sickness and in health. And standing by their husbands through it all. Even till death came for my grandpa and my great uncle. Selfless love and prayers. Hope against all hope. Standing firm and unshaken all the way not of their own strength but by God. And teaching that with God by your side, everything is possible. The importance of hard work, no time for laziness.

It hasn’t been a bed of roses. It has not been easy. It has not been fun times all through. But through tears, through pain, in happiness, in health, down times and up times, they keep standing.

I thank God for your lives and am forever grateful for you all. You have all set standards in more ways than I can imagine and I hope I won’t let you down.

Happy birthday to the world’s bestest aunty. Love you so much.

Thanks for showing me what it means to be a woman.

2 thoughts on “On becoming a woman; the strength of a woman

Leave a Reply

