Birthday series (3)

Stayed up late to put this up and almost forgot to. Was about turning off my PC. *sigh*

Entering 100 level, I was between 50 and 52kg and giving my mum serious headache. I had dropped to about 46kg at some point before then and started picking up. So somehow I think she just had a plan to feed me till I got fat. My birthday was a day after my Matric. She had bought enough food instead of listening to my suggestion that she shouldn’t bring food. Ate full breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and still had enough to give out. Went home on my birthday (which was a Friday) and popsie decides we eat out. *bbm smile smiley*. See me grinning…. Knowing BU, going back to school on Sunday, mumsie packs food to feed my whole block again… Ok, I exaggerated. To feed my room again.

She won…. Got back home about 3 weeks after and was weighing almost 60kg. She saw me and smiled. Unfortunately for her, I did lose all that weight again before my 4 years was up and haven’t quite been able to reach 60kg again.

Then 200 level. I think that was my best birthday ever. It was a Saturday… I didn’t pay for lunch so as it was Sabbath, and it was my birthday, my roommates decided they all collected their food and we share. On our way to cafe, mumsie calls that she is coming to school and I thought, ok she would bring small food. So I asked my roommates to still collect their food. We do that for lunch and whatever mumsie brings for dinner. I was so wrong. We had barely gotten back to our room when she called that she was downstairs and I should call some of my roommates to help me bring coolers upstairs. WHAT!!! Got downstairs and saw orisisrisi rice; jollof rice, fried rice, pounded yam, efo elegusi and ila alasepo (God bless my grandma), and a cooler of drinks and cake. I wanted to run mad.

Had 2 Osun roommates and an Ondo (well, her mum is Ondo) roommate. You should see my room that afternoon. My roommates went round our block looking for those who didn’t have food for lunch so they could give out their lunch… as there was better lunch in the room. We ate and had extra even after doing dinner. Trust, we settled down with the pounded yam first (so it didn’t spoil), gave out much of the fried rice and ate jollof rice for dinner.

And you should hear my roommates pray for my mum. It was just funny. BU suffered us small sha… Chai…

300 level was a Sunday. Trust, my roommates were waiting expectantly and mumsie didn’t disappoint.

400 level, Monday, though mumsie couldn’t bring food (they refused to let her take her leave for like 2 years; kept saying change in oga yada yada), she sent money, had some friends over for lunch at guest cafe and and somehow my aunty ended up sending cake and drinks. So that night again, it was drinks a plenty.

Then I entered the league of those who invited friends out for dinner. Had a mild 21st @ Soul Lounge. About 25 guests with bouncers. Seriously. Though I didn’t pay for them. A friend organized them and they did bounce people. Had a milder party the next year. Had a big headache trying to get a place and since I was seriously craving pizza then decided to do Debonairs. Booked the place o. Then get a call some 3 days before. FG declared that day as Public Holiday and they usually get so many customers on such days, they can’t afford to keep space for me and yada yada. So party shifted to Cactus… Much cooler location… Pizza not as fantastic but I had fun all the same. I remember being giving an ultimatum that I must not celebrate my next birthday without a boyfriend. *sigh*.

Last year was a time for me and God. People were so on my case expecting another party but alas, it wasn’t going to happen. Decided to spend it in God’s presence instead. And I did have fun from YB calling me that morning to sing for me *muah*, he did try to be the first caller that morning but someone else was faster; I just had fun all day without having a party. Ok, well I had a “Private Party” me, myself and I; played that song all day long thanks to YB… And got cakes ehn…. Not had that much cake on my birthday since my 10th. From work, my aunty, and YB… Ended the day in a vigil… and went to the cinema the next day with my immediate younger sister (don’t mind me, have 2 of them after me so 1 is immediate younger sister and the baby is my kid sister).

And so that ends my birthday series.

Not sure what this year would be like…. Might put up something later that day sha.

Tada

2 thoughts on “Birthday series (3)

Leave a Reply

