Random

Once again, I don’t know what to call this post but I felt I should quickly share this.

Was at Digging Deep last Tuesday and the topic was 12 ways to unlocking the Bible (something of that sort). It was based on Rick Warren’s Bible Study Methods; 12 Ways you can unlock God’s Word (sure the ways are not exhausted). Still trying to get the book. Saw it online but not sure if it is the complete version.

Sometimes this week, I stumbled on another blog (def a blog to add to my blogroll) and the writer also mentioned something of that sorts and how like the Pastor mentioned that day, when we study, we shouldn’t just “read” but also try to draw “analogies” (if am allowed to use that word) from the passages we read. Read the article here.

I had almost “forgotten” about the message (asides looking up and downloading a pdf version of the book and trying to read it) till I read that blog. And I just knew that I stumbled on the blog for a reason.

Many times (like Rick and my Pastor said), we listen to a great sermon and wonder how the Pastor got all he preached on from that passage. At times, they are passages we have read over and over again and we just don’t get “anything different” from them. I can’t say the reason why it is so because am sure for some people it isn’t that they don’t pray or ask for the Holy Spirit to teach them and explain and expound the words they read neither is it that they don’t wait to hear from God. That has happened in the past wella. I read a passage, a devotional and I know somehow, it is just a literal understanding I have or I listen to a sermon and am like Whaow, have read this before, I didn’t see that. Have heard a lot of prepare your heart, pray and all but at times it just “isn’t working”. Whatever the reason maybe, I hope this book helps.

I for one decided to have a book for my Bible Study (had one in the past but somehow forgot about it; gonna search for the book)  and write things down as they come to mind. Not just write, but also read through the book everyday (yes, it has become my new novel). You would be amazed what the Holy Spirit tells you. And write them down.

I am also currently looking for a Bible Study partner, which I believe is another way to unlock God’s word. We pick a book of the Bible, a passage, a verse and explain what we understand by what we read. If in doubt about anything, we could refer to older, more mature Christians.

One thing struck me though, most of us Christians read the Bible to “debate” or “defend” it. God isn’t asking us to defend His word or debate it. He doesn’t need us to do that. Read it for doctrine (teaching), reproof, correction, and for instruction in righteousness

I am also working on getting more Bible tools. They are very beneficial in our study of God’s word.

Let’s enjoy reading the Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth (BIBLE).

Tada.

8 thoughts on “Random

  1. Thanks so much for dropping by. I’m glad you love the Word too. That’s the only way forward. God bless and keep you and make His face shine on you and give you peace. Have a blessed weekend. * off to read the rest of your blog *

    1. Thanks. And Amen. God bless you too. You have actually encouraged me to talk more about my God. Most of what have written on are political and random stuff. Have a great weekend too. Cheers

  2. hmmm I am liking the idea of making notes and listening to the holy spirit when you read the bible…. *sigh* I need discipline. I start and then I stop… hmmm… thanks for this.

    1. It isn’t easy o. Like you said it requires discipline. Have started jotting and all before then stopped. Hopefully this tile around, it is permanent.

Leave a Reply

