A little sleep, a little slumber

I love sleep. My mum says I can sleep on water. She says I can sleep all through the day but am very alert at night… *shrugs*. Is that a problem? Got an uncle who she says we have the same sleeping habit and he is the MD of some company now *wink wink*. Maybe I should continue my sleeping… so I can become MD…. Loool.

Anyways, my sleeping habit isn’t the subject. Stumbled on an acquaintance’s BBM status recently. Can’t remember exactly how it was worded but paraphrased is similar to the Bible passage in Proverbs 24:33-34; A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest  and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man. It was just worded in a tusher way.. Gosh… Not saying the Bible isn’t tush o… Couldn’t help commenting on the status and that got me thinking and remembering when I took the NIM exams… the lectures on Management Principles, Styles, Theories, the Abraham Maslow, Hawthorne, Henri Fayol, Herzberg, the free sociey (Laissez-faire)… Oh boy, see me giving some Management ish….

One thing that struck me and still does is Theory X and Theory Y by Douglas McGregor.

Theory X assumes people have an inherent dislike for work and will avoid it whenever possible. People must be coerced, controlled, directed, or threatened with punishment in order to get them to achieve the organizational objectives. People prefer to be directed, do not want responsibility, and have little or no ambition. People seek security above all else.

Theory Y assumes work is as natural as play and rest. People will exercise self-direction if they are committed to the objectives (they are NOT lazy). Commitment to objectives is a function of the rewards associated with their achievement. People learn to accept and seek responsibility. Creativity, ingenuity, and imagination are widely distributed among the population. People are capable of using these abilities to solve an organizational problem. People have potential.

Ok.. Too much English ba? For a blog… Not going into the nitty gritty o. It is Theory X that has me thinking; People are generally lazy.. Abi? Is that not the long and short of the whole story? People don’t like work so they are lazy. If A=B and B=C, then A=C ba? Maybe not quite in this case. What I am trying to infer is sleep is generally associated with laziness. So for those of us that love like sleep we are lazy??? Arghhhh. Not sure

I don’t know if it is an African problem or it is general but is it only me that thinks Theory X is true about 90% of the time? Especially as regards Africans? I see a lot of young men and women all around me who don’t want to work. They would rather stay back at home and money “miraculously” gets to their hands than to get up in the morning and work. Not saying there are not days when you just want to lay on your bed for 10 hours and sleep; when you finally wake up, you wanna watch TV or movies… That’s a once in a while ish.

No, I am talking about people who don’t want to do anything with their hands and still expect to be “rich”; to have money. Or the ones who say they are working (work here is they stay in car parks, say they are guarding your car and expect you to give them N200 when you are driving out). And don’t try justifying their “work”. Or the ones who just come to work, days on end, doing nothing, waiting for salary at the end of the month and they are not bothered; makes me think if they are okay; you aint adding to yourself and you are fine that way??? I am positive these are the kind of people the Bible refers to when it says a little sleep a little slumber…

Yes, literally sleeping all day not doing anything is part of it oh… Now before you refer to my earlier statement, yes growing up, I did enjoy sleeping during the day especially weekends and do all my assignments at night… I still do… Can feel very sleepy before a vigil but sure wouldn’t sleep. Wait till I get home and am out for the whole day… *grin*. But with classes and now work, my body has learnt to re-adjust. Work during the day and sleep at night. Though I still remain alert very early in the morning, by afternoon my mind blanks out itself. Makes me try to get as much as possible done in the morning.  I can’t imagine you sleeping all day 7 days a week, 365 days a year and expect to make it in life… How na?

Just thinking is it innate in man most especially Africans to be lazy? To like “sleep”? Is McGregor’s Theory X true in most cases or Theory Y? Are we really not intelligent, gullible, resistant to change, have no ambition and self centered (like a version of Theory X puts it)?

Btw, me I like sleep and I like work… Just wondering, do they gel? Sleep and Work? Can someone like both?

Just pondering


Leave a Reply

